A historical hidden gem within Druid Hill Park and the Maryland Zoo is The Maryland House, which sits by itself atop a hill near the Mansion House. Originally on display at the nation’s centennial celebration in Philadelphia in 1876, the building was dismantled and reconstructed in Druid Hill Park the following year.
After the relocation, the Maryland House became a natural history and archeology museum that specifically catered to young boys as an educational and recreation center. This was done under the supervision of Otto Lugger whose work enable children to visit the house and learn about geology and natural sciences which lasted until the 1880s when it was closed.
The Natural History of Society of Maryland reopened the Maryland House as a museum in 1936 after becoming a storage facility for nearly half a century. For the next three decades, children were able to learn about geology and topography along with Native American artifacts and fossil models. This complimented the over-all theme of the zoo since its citizens viewed it as a place where members of Baltimore’s community could come to learn about the living world around them.
In 1967, the authority of the house passed to the Baltimore Zoological Association who were able to renovate it before becoming offices for the zoo administration.
Sources: “Druid Hill To Have Museum” The Sun, May 3, 1936. pp. SC2
Becky Mangus. Druid Hill Park Revistited: A Pictoral Essay. (Friends of Druid Hill Park. 1985) pp.35 & Druid Hill To Have Museum pp SC2